Tags

, , , ,

yesterday, which was Friday, was dark and rainy, and I kept saying, stay sober, man, don’t fall to pieces, and I walked out the door and out onto the landlord’s lawn and ducked just in time to avoid a football thrown by a future S.C. quarterback, 1975 – 1975?, and I thought, jesus, we are not too far from 1984 I remember when I read that book, I thought, well, 1984, that’s ten million miles to China, and here it was almost here, and I was almost dead, getting ready, chewing on the pulpy gig, getting ready to spit it out. dark and rainy – a death closet, a dark stinking death closet: Los Angeles, Calif., late afternoon, friday, China 8 miles away, rice with eyes, vomiting dogs of mourning – dark and rainy, ah shit! – and I remembered when I was a kid, I thought, I’d like to live to see the year 2,000, I thought that would be the magic thing, with my old man beating hell out of me everyday I wanted to live to be 80 and see the year 2,000; now with everything beating hell out of me I no longer have that desire […].[1]


[1] Charles Bukowski, ‘A Rain of Women’, in: Charles Bukowski, Tales of Ordinary Madness (London, 2008), 147.