Tags

, , , , , ,

This book was a good find in a second-hand book store. A solid collection of short stories. Not all stories are equally strong, but I think there are a couple of nice gems in there.

I
vibrate in the minds of millions.
We want proof.
An island washed clean by my birth. My afterbirth scars the air. The land itself becomes sacred and heavy with reminders of my birthday.
As tribute the witnesses shed what had turned black inside, scream, and their cells promise to bear no children.
The.people think I am an end, but they remain as long as I do. Last thoughts move from the electric to the sub-atomic and grow dense at my center when they collide.[1]


[1] Jeremy Robert Johnson, ‘Last Thoughts Drifting Down’, in: Jeremy Robert Johnson, Angel Dust Apocalypse (Portland, 2005), 120.